May 2017 Mood

Avocado Smoothie Bowl

Post is a little late into the month, but here you go. I’m crazy for these things lately:

  1. Coconut Mango Cheesecake from Kuppa Roastery and Cafe. I never use the phrase “slice of heaven” when describing food because quite frankly, no dish or dessert has given me the impression of paradise until I had a forkful of this slice of heaven. I happily travel through all seven train stops just to visit this cafe—their coffee and dishes have kept me coming back the past few weeks! 
  2. Witch Hazel Facial Mist from Beauty Bakery, oh my god. A few spritzes of this sweet-scented mist lifts my mood. This is my ultimate pick-me-up for the scorching summer season.
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy Volumes 1 and 2. By extension, both films’ killer soundtracks that get all the good vibes going (Vol. 1 soundtrack here and Vol. 2 soundtrack here). I took this quiz on Buzzfeed to find out which GotG character I am based on my song choices, and I got Nebula. No complains from my end, but I’m not sure about the accuracy of my results because I did not know all of the song choices in that quiz. Hah!
  4. Smoothies and smoothie bowls. My first attempt (avocado smoothie bowl, as shown above) isn’t your typical Insta-worthy bowl, but it sure tasted good. Then again, you can rarely go wrong with a smoothie mixture, right?
  5. Dreamy dresses from Réalisation Par. I adore this one and this one.
  6. High-waist vintage jeans—not within my entry-level writer budget, but absolutely decadent. Visit Persephone Vintage for charming vintage finds.  The shop features items from Levi’s and Calvin Klein to name a few.
  7. “What I found really interesting about Kawakubo’s clothes is that although from the outside some people might think that they’re unwearable, they totally are [wearable]. My first real close encounter with Kawakubo’s clothes was when we borrowed things for the Punk exhibition. It was then that I realized she completely understood dressmaking and tailoring techniques in a beautiful way. And she understood historical fashion techniques, and she’s been able to completely, in a sense, obliterate [them] through using them.” – From this Vogue write-up on the genius of Rei Kawakubo, as elaborated by a conservator and written by .
2 thoughts on “May 2017 Mood

Leave a Reply

