Ringing in the New Year

dsc_9488

Photo Credit: Bryan Caranto

Glamming up for New Year is non-negotiable for me. I usually stay at home with the rest of my family, but I’m not welcoming in a new year and watching fireworks in a slouchy tee!

That said, this is the outfit I came up with for New Year’s Eve. Except, I wasn’t able to wear it on NYE. Originally, I was expecting to celebrate with more members of the family from my father’s side, but then I learned that they had plans to welcome 2017 somewhere else. So I went for something a little more low-key for the evening—particularly, a cold-shoulder top and jeans.

I ended up wearing this ensemble on New Year’s Day. It’s tailored to be worn in the evening, but I wasn’t about to make this black wrap dress sit in my closet! I bought it specifically for NYE. (Let us use and wear the things we buy, please. Char.)

You may be surprised to know that, despite the humid weather in the Philippines, this outfit wasn’t uncomfortable to wear. The fabric was light enough and offered some breathability. I didn’t sweat underneath the layers at all. Siguro ang issue ko lang, parang nakakasakal nang slight ang turtleneck. Haha. This is my first turtleneck top, though. Aba’y hindi ko naman alam na ganito pala pag suot na at hindi rin ako sanay na may nakapulupot sa leeg ko. Pero keri naman.

Turtleneck Top: H&M – Black Wrap Dress with Lace Detail: Something Borrowed via Zalora – Lace-Up Flats: Primadonna – Black Strap Bag: Borrowed from My Sister

edited-new-years

Photo Credit: Ariane Caranto

Note: I had the wrong side of my necklace facing up throughout this whole photoshoot. LOL.

Also, oh my god, hindi pantay kulay ko huhu. I hate how white and bright my face is here. I swear, I had no makeup on except for lipstick. I know very little about makeup, and a lot more about skincare. I guess I’ve been paying the most attention to my face! Haha!

dsc_9427

Photo Credit: Bryan Caranto

dsc_9357

Photo Credit: Ariane Caranto

dsc_9438

Photo Credit: Bryan Caranto

2 thoughts on “Ringing in the New Year

Leave a Reply

