School Girl-Chic

14513534_10209342775039891_507038887_o

Photo Credit: Joanna Cabangon

When it comes to off-duty essentials, denim is a timeless favorite. It came to my mind a little too quickly when I was preparing for a coffee date last Saturday and dressing up on the fly. While it’s not always a groundbreaking option, denim does its job for the weekend: it’s comfortable, it’s chic, and it easily puts an outfit together.

The thing is, not all denim pieces are equal. There’s a fresh crop each fashion season that makes outfits more inventive than the usual. Denim button-front skirts enjoyed its “It Girl essential” label in 2015—the same year when 70’s aesthetics rocked the runways. I only got my hands on this denim skirt last month, but I can see myself wearing it for seasons to come. Some denim trends you can just wear all the time.

Then again, the denim button-front skirt is a pretty versatile piece. The A-line silhouette is flattering, and the blue denim hue is easily appealing. It exudes a laidback, school girl charm and achieves a perenniality that other denim skirts don’t.

When worn with a striped top, the denim skirt made for a cute ensemble, so I offset that with a military green jacket. I also wanted to deviate from the athleisure trend, so I paired it with ankle-strap espadrilles instead of sneakers.

Striped Top: Farmer’s Bazaar – Denim Buttondown Skirt: H&M – Green Jacket: From My Sister – Shoulder Bag: Parfois – Espadrilles: Primadonna – Watch: Michael Kors

P.S. I promise better outfit photos next time? 🙂 

Leave a Reply

